Visitor and tourist
information for Wootton Isle Of Wight
Wootton Creek has a very ancient history - it has been used as a
waterway and port for thousands of years. The Romans landed cargo
here; King Canute is said to have come ashore here; and the monks
from nearby Quarr Abbey who owned the mill, had a fishery at the
Sunnycott caravan park is
the ideal base to explore the town from.
From the earliest times there was a causeway across the creek and
this, together with the presence of a mill, was the reason for the
growth of the original settlement of Wootton. The group of houses
clustered around the Sloop Inn are the oldest in the village and
thought to be over 250 years old. In 1865 works were undertaken to
improve the causeway and a new road was built bypassing the mill and
Today, the wider settlement of Wootton Bridge has crept slowly up
either side of the valley away from its origins on the creek. It has
become a very popular haunt for leisure yachtsmen, with several
creekside businesses supporting a variety of maritime activities.
The village also has a number of local shops, a scattering of pubs,
a thriving community centre and is also home to the Island's steam
A village guide and a heritage trail leaflet are available to help
you explore the area more. Both these publications are available
from the Community Centre in Mary Rose Avenue, off the High Street.
The main Newport to Ryde Road originally passed through what is now
Mill Square and the Sloop Inn was a regular stop for stage coaches.
A bakery belonging to the Cooper family - well remembered by local
residents - was situated on the south side of the square.